Nevada alumni meet at WHS for banquet

NEVADA — The Nevada Alumni Association recently held its annual banquet at Wynford High School with 80 alumni and guests in attendance, of which 55 were Nevada High School graduates.

Norma Gebhardt and Donald and Marilyn Willson helped decorate for the event.

The tables were covered in white, with green placemats and gold programs with inserts listing honored classes and displaying the school colors.

Roger and Linda Jury handled registration, and Wilma Burky gave the invocation.

Marvin Monroe provided music for the evening.

Wilma Burky and Mary Jane Bender were chairwomen and acted as masters of ceremonies.

Wynford High School Principal Jeff Holbrook updated attendees on Wynford’s activities.

A baked steak dinner was prepared by Katering Kountry Style and served by the Wynford Lady Royals. The Wynford FFA chapter set up the tables.

The three recipients of the $500 Luther Lust scholarship were announced. They were Alyssa Harrer, Carlee Leonhardt and Aryn Copeland.

Veterans in attendance were recognized for their service.

The honored classes for the evening were the classes of 1951, 1956 and 1961.

Max Spiegel was present to represent the class of 1951. Deceased members include Homer Gilliland, Ronald Klink, Charles Mosman, Donald McElhaney, Joyce (Reed) Stanford, Bill Stover, Stanley Goodman, Robert Morgan, Eddie Clevenger and John Tschantz.

Those present from the class of 1956 were Betty Lou (Bennett) Park, Audrey (Abbott) Ault, Helen (Creger) Thomas, Nancy (Oliver) Basche, Charles Gilliland, George Collet and Monroe.

Deceased members from the class of 1956 include Marybelle (Manhart) Karg, Orville Rhoden, James Baehr, Jerry McClain, Raymond Nickelson, Janet (Spiegel) Cooper, Maxine (Pell) Barciz, Dwight Spiegel, Kenneth Conn and Jim Case.

Thomas Sheaffer, Patti (Rothlisberger) Riegel, Roger Jury and Bonnie (Jury) Williams were present from the class of 1961. Deceased members from their class include Mary Niederhauser, Harlena (Hemminger) Wertz, Larry Parker, Frank Traxler, Mildred (Chance) Harigle, Jim Baker, Jerry Holdcraft, Jim Williams and Dick Case.

Other alumni honored were Mary Harriet (Croneis) Atkins, of the 70-year class of 1946, and Andora (Christensen) Kinsey, of the 73-year class of 1943.

Patti Riedel, James Nordyke and Donald Ekleberry won gift certificates.

Following a brief business meeting, Monroe led the group in singing the school alma mater.

--The Daily Chief-Union, Upper Sandusky, OH, Monday, June 13, 2016