Nevada alumni hold 129th reunion banquet

NEVADA The 129th Nevada Alumni Banquet was held recently at Wynford High School, with 145 alumni, guests and faculty in attendance.

The tables were decorated in the school colors of green and gold. Placemats with pictures of the classes of 1961 and 1951 also were used. Tables were set up by the Wynford FFA and Katering Kountry Style prepared the dinner, which was served by the Wynford Band.

Don and Pat Reed, Marsha Gathright and Sandy Stuckman greeted the guests as they arrived.

Harold and Andora Kinsey were at the registration table.

Wilma Burky, Mary Jane Bender and Roger Jury served as co-chairmen for the banquet.

Mary Niederhauser welcomed the guests and served as master of ceremonies.

Tim Ferguson gave the invocation.

For the program, Wynford Superintendent Steve Mohr gave an update of the school district.

Luther Lust, former superintendent of Nevada and Wynford schools, shared memories of Nevada school.

Margaret Thornton presented the Luther Lust Teacher Scholarship to Mallory Honaker and Trent Rowland. Their names will be inscribed on a plaque, along with previous winners and displayed at the high school.

Sandy (Reber) Pippen traveled the farthest.

The class of 1938 was the earliest class represented, with members Armond Hoover and Gilbert Bucher in attendance.

Larry and Janet Snodgrass have not missed a reunion in 51 years.

The Niederhauser family had the most family members present, with Richard, Mary and Nancy Newman and Susan Abott attending the reunion.

Mary Niederhauser introduced the 50-year class. Other members of the class present were: Larry Daiber, Jack Spitler, Ramona (Stout) Howard, Bonnie (Jury) Williams, Nancy (Kerr) Morth, Jury, Pat (Rothlisberger) Riedel, Charles Silveous, Ferguson, Tom Sheaffer, Sandra (Reber) Pippen and Susan (Miller) Shepherd a former classmate.

Bill Stover spoke for the 60-year class. Other class members present were: Carol Jacobs, Joyce (Heinlen) Daiber, Alice (Mossman) King, Irene (Bachtell) Riedlinger and Max Spiegel.

Faculty members present were: Lust, Mohr, Norma (Starner) Gebhardt and Pat (Steinhilber) Reed.

Joyce Daiber, Wanda Landis and Darl Fritz won door prizes.

It was announced that Jim Stiger and the Nevada track team of 1954 were inducted into the Wyandot County sports Hall of Fame. Other track team members are: Jim Steibhilber, Curt Bell, Tom Stover, David Youmans, Milton Motter, Charlie Gilliland, Dwight Spiegel, Ray Hyatt, Richard Gerber, Marty Hoover, Jim Baublitz, Gale Bryant and coach Al Buckeye.

A brief business meeting was held and the remainder of the evening was spent renewing friendships.

Marvin Monroe provided music during the social hour.

The evening concluded with the group singing the school alma mater.

--Daily Chief-Union, Upper Sandusky, OH, Monday, June 20, 2011